Dead Until Dark

So last night I finally took a trip to the bookstore and picked up a copy of Dead Until Dark.  I know I’m a bit behind on the whole True Blood thing, but I’ve got the eps downloaded and now I want to read the books.

I only got through a few pages last night becuase I was suuuuper tired, so I’ll probably have to start from the beginning.

Has anyone else read these?

My first question is this:
Does everyone know about vampires living among everyone? Like are they generally accepted into basic life now? I was just a bit confused on that.

I can’t wait to get through all the books and start watching TB.

11 responses to “Dead Until Dark

  1. Answer: Yes. Vampires are out “out of the coffin”. I wouldn’t say they’re accepted because they face discrimination all throughout Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse novels. I don’t want to ruin it for you.. but I must say the books are addicting and super amazing. It’s so x-rated in comparison to Twilight and as I was reading the books during my commute time- I’d catch myself giggling and blushing from the sex scenes. The books are great and I can’t wait for the new book to be released in October! Happy reading! You will breeze through all the books easily! 🙂

  2. I agree with aimeehustle – the books are so addictive! I read all 9 books in the span of a week and a half. They are quick reads, but super good. Although not x-rated compared to real life (turn to smuttastic FF for that) these are x-rated compared to Twilight for sure – SMeyer would roll over in her grave if she read these!

    Also, be prepared for your Edward crush to possibly turn to Eric, instead. I have a serious fictional character crush on Mr. Northmann.

  3. LipsLikeSugar

    I can’t wait to read these books! I’ve heard they are super easy to read as well. My friend told me they were like and R-rated version of Twilight. Sweet! I love the HBO series-I started out having a little thing for Bill, but once Eric got his haircut….DAAAAMN!!! I’m excited to read about his character in the books!

  4. The series and the books are so great. I agree that they are definitely more x-rated. and as for the show…so ADDICTING! believe it or not – my husband was actually the one who got me hooked on it – way before I got into the twilight craze.
    Hope you enjoy. Let us know what you think!!

    • OH yeah – the only thing I don’t like about the series (on HBO) that Bill Compton who is the main vamp dude – is so NOT hot on the show – nice guy but i dunno….not very sexually appealling..heehee

  5. The books are awesome! I love TB but the books are way better. I have to agree with Too Far Gone. Edward is fine but Eric is way fucking sexy so prepare yourself.Oh and btw I have the the whole set and the are for sell if you want them let me know.

    p.s. We know a lot of the same people. I used to live S Florida. My husband is Bishop and Remembering Never. Small world.

  6. They are awesome books! I am on the second to last one now. I think there are 9 or 10 total. I actually lost count but am throroughly enjoying the series – both written and on TV.

    Hope you enjoy them as well.

  7. hi there! i’ve read all 9 of them and think they’re all pretty good! i really liked the first one, which the first season of True Blood follows, to some degree, and the 4th book…wow…well, let me just say Sookie and Eric. In a shower. Better start reading fast girl!

    i have to agree with shani about Eric – he is one sexy MFV!

    Charlaine Harris doesn’t skip out on the supernatural sex in these books too…

  8. i read the whole series in less than 2 weeks. hahah.

    So in short… vampires are known to everyone. but their fight for civil rights is the same as what black people had to go through (kind of) during the civil rights movement. and what the gays are going through now.

    4th Book is the BEST! i actually teared…. and i don’t cry. hahah.

  9. The Dead series is great! Yes, it’s got a lot more sexing than Twilight!
    Another vampire series is Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake books.

  10. Yes, def the Anita Blake books are good, if Sookie Stackhouse series is xrated, um then Anita might be NC-17, lol. My fave is ‘Incubus Dreams’. Been reading for years, you have to read!

Leave a Reply

