Flightless Bird, American Mouth… huh?!

When I wasn’t laughing my ass off at work from the Wolf Wang & SweetLuv2U youtube video, I was either listening to Twilight OR playing Flightless Bird, American Mouth over and over again in my head phones.

While listening to the song, for the umpteenth time, I realized… “hmmm, I’ve never really paid attention to the lyrics.”

Soooo, of course I google: Flightless Bird, American Mouth + lyrics

Once the lyrics came up, I hit play and proceeded to sing along… 

I was a quick wet boy, diving too deep for coins 
All of your street light eyes wide on my plastic toys 
Then when the cops closed the fair, I cut my long baby hair 
Stole me a dog-eared map and called for you everywhere 

Uggghh what?! I immediately hit pause & try to figure out what the hell homeboy’s talkin’ about. Umm yeah… no clue. Then, I hit play, again…

Have I found you 
Flightless bird, jealous, weeping or lost you, american mouth 
Big pill looming 

Now I’m a fat house cat 
Nursing my sore blunt tongue 
Watching the warm poison rats curl through the wide fence cracks 
Pissing on magazine photos 
Those fishing lures thrown in the cold 
And clean blood of Christ mountain stream 

Have I found you 
Flightless bird, grounded, bleeding or lost you, american mouth 
Big pill stuck going down

Ooohhh-kayyy… those have GOT TO BE the craziest lyrics to a song I’ve heard in a really long time, if ever… Fat house cat, sore blunt tongue, warm poison rats, pissing on magazine photos?! Wahhh wahhh what?!!

How come I never noticed what I was listening to before AND what about that song makes me wanna cry every single time… it fo’ sho can’t be the lyrics? 

Hmmm…. You know what, I figured it out… it’s cuz the melody of the song and homeboy’s dreamy voice. It puts me in a trance every time I hear it. It takes me back to the Prom scene when Bella and Edward are dancing under the twinkling lights and he dips her back and plants his juicy lips on her neck… ahhhhh, I love it.

So, who cares if Iron & Wine is a bit of a nut for writing those lyrics, he created the best song evveerrrrr!!!! And you know what… I can’t wait to cry my ass off watching Yoshi dance to it at her twi-wedding reception… hehe 🙂

7 responses to “Flightless Bird, American Mouth… huh?!

  1. dear god… iron&wine always has some weird ass lyrics but wtf? better question: since lady k suggested this one, what was kstew smoking that made her go “this song would be perfect for this scene.” ?!

  2. I believe the song has deeper meaning than just odd lyrics. It think its about the downfall of American society… you know, the shocking comparison of say like, American society in Leave It To Beaver’s day as to today’s world. There’s an interesting discussion about the song’s meaning on songmeanings.com: http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/3530822107858648974/

  3. YES – my wedding song! ps. he hasn’t asked me yet… but oh YES, HE WILL.

    • OH yeah he will girl…once Rob finds you in New York and karaokes some Lykke Li/drake to you….yo’ man will feel so damn threated, he’ll be at the jeweler before you know it! hahahaha
      BTW – it’ll be some fat-ass ring too…
      Girl…you go on wit’ yo’ bad self…YES HE WILL.

  4. awww this would make a beautiful wedding song.

    I too googled the lyrics thinking the same thing and came across what Megan posted.
    I guess when KStew chose this song, she was referring to “Have I found You, Flightless Bird” pertaining to Edward’s thoughts towards Bella.
    I only need that one line to feel like i’m Bella under the gazebo in his arms. =]

  5. I have to agree with you on the fact that his voice and the melody of the song have a lot to do with why it’s one of my faves.
    I Googled it too to find the lyrics and this site http://www.metrolyrics.com/flightless-bird-american-mouth-lyrics-iron-wine.html has some user comments on their take of the song’s lyrics which kind of makes sense if KStew was the one picking the song. 😉

  6. when you said American Mouth, I thought of American Gun, the movie Nikki Reed was in some time ago .

Leave a Reply

